Anti-Facebook Statement o’ the Day: Fightin’ Laziness

February 4, 2010


So, reader Tony told me that I should get Facebook so that he can use that instead of a personalized communique to invite me to his birthday party.

What is wrong with the personalized touch? If he just wants to be lazy and only send a form invitation, he can act his age and do it via e-mail.

Oh, and apparently everyone is invited to his party. Not being one to publish other people’s e-mail addresses, you can try and reach him on his Xanga, but he has not used it since 2006.

5 Responses to “Anti-Facebook Statement o’ the Day: Fightin’ Laziness”

  1. Tony G Says:

    I still read it, occasionally. And Facebook invitations are no different than the traditional stockcard mail invitations. If you want to find out what I’m doing, you have two options, you can get a Facebook, or contact someone else who’s going. Otherwise, my fiesta is on Friday.

  2. liberexmachina Says:

    So, you are disinviting me? Seems a little harsh.

    We both know that I am not cool enough to be on Facebook, so option A is out. Option B requires mind reading powers or divination to figure out who else is going, neither of which I have.

    Nota Bene: I said e-mail, not snail mail. Going though one’s e-mail address book is just as easy as whatever the Facebook equivalent is AND you can inform those not cool enough for Facebook about your goings-on. It’s all the rage.

  3. Tony G Says:

    There’s no disinvitation, I’m just forcing you to find out what the plans are. I want you to be there, but I also want you to take initiative to increase your social circle.

  4. Tony G Says:

    The party’s next Friday, I’ll call you when I get off of work. Besides, I still have to talk to you about the retreat.

  5. liberexmachina Says:

    Are you seriously arguing that having a Facebook would be “taking initiative” in my socializing? Really? Facebook and it’s ilk are the most impersonal method of socializing ever created. Why is it not only accepted but encouraged for one to have a Facebook but Interweb dating is a point of derision? I mean, they are the same thing. People typing stuff into an on-line forum and calling that the primary means of social communication. That is the epitome of laziness.

    Real effort is in face-to-face interaction, not in typing.


Leave a Reply

