Also Endorsed by Chtulhu: Catholic Campaign for Human Development

November 21, 2009


Tip of the Hat: That Other McCain

I don’t have all the details, but apparently the CCHD has been doing some bad things with the money they have been getting. And have been for quite a while.

Of course, I am already wary of Caritas in Veritate, so saying that you examined what you are doing in light of that encyclical is not much of a comfort. Neither is ignoring uncomfortable questions.

Mayhaps, instead of sticking money in the CCHD basket, donate some cash to the local parish food pantry or other local Church poverty assistance. Local charities are much more likely to be doing the right thing, anyways. You probably share the church building with them anyways.

If Reader Tony has any thoughts on the matter, we can argue about it in the comments.

2 Responses to “Also Endorsed by Chtulhu: Catholic Campaign for Human Development”

  1. Tony G Says:

    I’ve been too busy to offer a good comment on this. However, I still think you’ve misread “Caritas in Veritate.”

    I’d also like to point out that I acknowledge what the CCHD has done. It’s not so much an actual approval of what these organizations have done, as much as it is a lack of homework on the part of the CCHD to properly background check their organizations.

    I’ll also say that I personally know the new director of the CCHD, and he’s having a difficult time, in a way, cleaning up from some of the previous mess, and I don’t think it’s fair to say (or imply, Mr. Semantics) that the CCHD is evil. Even the article you linked mentioned that the USCCB and CCHD conducted its own investigation after these allegations came out and discovered some of them to be true.

    As you also know with organizations, it takes a while to purge everything out.

    I’ll comment on this more personally, since I don’t have the time to have an actual rant on here.

  2. liberexmachina Says:

    You know how I cannot resist a good hyperbole. I saw some misdirection in their response and jumped on it. Sorry if I went too far.

    I wish the new director guy luck and godspeed in clearing out the muck.


Leave a Reply

