“Goode Family” goode?

May 27, 2009


I was withholding excitement about the “Goode Family” until I got to watch the premiere. And I still am withholding excitement.

I hate that whole family. Except maybe the grandfather. And Che. Kinda creepy giving praise to something named “Che”. But he bucks the vegan trend by eating other pets. That makes me happy.

It is going to take the show getting into a groove for me to be sure that Mike Judge is making fun of eco-cultism instead of giving it subtle praise (like he did to the Texas state of mind in “King of the Hill”). The replacement of garbage can with a recycling bin in the “King of the Hill” opening sequence makes me wary.

UPDATE: And Bob Sagat’s sitcom has way too little “shooting things at an indoor gun range” action, considering the promos they were playing during the “Goode Family”.

4 Responses to ““Goode Family” goode?”

  1. DeeMer Says:

    The show kind of reminds me of the episode of “King” where Buck Strickland “goes green” only for the prestige of it. Mike Judge isn’t really criticizing the stated goals of environmentalism (clean air, no litter, what-have-you); he criticizes the questionable methods, the dishonest players, and at times the conformity of the movement.
    Here with the Goodes, they _try_ to do the right thing. (Well the dad does, at least. The wife seems to want to fit in the right circles.) Too bad for them, as they spend a ridiculous amount of effort to do something that doesn’t really amount to anything. The show illuminates and revels in that absurdity.

  2. liberexmachina Says:

    I do remember that episode of “King of the Hill”. Buck advertises going green to flirt with chicks and Dale gets into the Carbon Offset business without planting any trees.

    I think it is still too early to judge whether or not “Goode Family” is illuminating the absurdity of eco-cultism or giving it praise. It will take time to see whether their efforts will be spun to have a noticeable effect on their community or not. Will they convince the neighbor to stop eating meat? Will they stop the grandfather from enjoying his SUV and strippers? Will they start selling toilet paper de-plyers on the local home shopping network? Time will tell.

    Nice to hear I have yet to alienate you, DeeMer.

  3. Tem M.T. Says:

    I was hoping we could use your ’scribing’ talent for our website.

    http://www.thebestshowsyourenotwatching.com/

    You blogged about The Goode Show which is one of our featured “BSwatch” shows. We’re hoping to round up a few people who can occasionally contribute perspective (via an article/blog) on the shows – maybe a recent episode, future direction, plot shortcomings etc.

    What’s in it for you?

    Primarily a larger audience back channeled to your blog. We don’t pay but the site has a lot of promise and we’re pretty excited about getting it off the ground. Let me know what you think

    Thanks

    Tem M.T.
    Junior Editor

  4. liberexmachina Says:

    I’d hate to turn you down on the offer, but I am currently without access to the television. My house is too far away from Dallas/Ft Worth to pick up stations without a $100 antenna and I cannot spare the $50 a month for cable. I’ll keep ya’ll in mind if you still need writers if my TV situation changes.


Leave a Reply

