Wondering Where that Forza Review Is Yet?

May 11, 2009


Well, it is on hold.

I got about 70% through that second playthrough (the game REALLY drags during the mop-up phase where you get to choose to go through races you put off playing  or spend an hour in an endurance race) when I realize that a) my hold down the Right Trigger carpals really hurt and b) I have not bought a new game since December.

The guilty pleasure known as Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2 has recently came out, so I picked it up. It’s a “hit X repeatedly” game and not a “hold down RT constantly” game. Gives my carpals time to stop aching halfway though the first race. You’ll see a review of that soon enough.

One of the things on that particular game disc is the X-Box update better known as the New X-Box Experience (the interface-changing OS system update). I got to tell you, it is a bit of a mixed bag.

The Good:

  • The Ability to Save Disc Games on the Hard Drive: You still have to have the disc in the drive, but the disc does not spin in the drive whilst you play. The noise reduction is tremendous. It even potentially decreases load screen wait times. I’ll need to get a bigger hard drive if I want more than one game loaded onto the hard drive at the same time, though.
  • Slick New Veneer: The ugly gray side screen is gone! The achievement displays are nice and fancy and gives you more information visually (% gamerscore points and achievements earned per game, exemplia gratia)

The Bad:

  • The Avatar System: Miis are cute. The Microsoft avatars (the blatant Mii ripoff included in the update) are creepy. I mean really creepy. Plus, new achievements are more likely to give you avatar clothing instead of new gamer pictures.

The Meh:

  • All the on-line stuff that is supposedly a part of it: My X-Box is not connected to the interwebs and I have no plans to do so in the near future.
Leave a Reply

